With a fresh approach to design, fashion and beauty, it’s no surprise that Danes have great style. Hot on the heels of Copenhagen Fashion Week, we highlight our favourite Danish brands across women's and men's clothing, and accessories.
As one of the happiest countries in the world, Denmark is renowned for encapsulating good taste with a simple design philosophy: crafting goods from high-quality materials. Over the last few years, Danish brands have slowly made their way over from desirable interiors to unique fashion labels, and with Copenhagen Fashion Week having recently just past, it’s no secret that Danish fashion has become our top sartorial inspiration. When we think of Danish style, minimalism, crisp silhouettes and pared-back tones often come to mind. However, there’s a new crop of Danish designers that breaking traditional Scandi norms, and are paying homage to their rich, traditional heritage with a fresh, vibrant spin. From electrifying prints to contemporary streetwear, we round up our favourite Danish brands across [women's](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women) and [men's clothing,](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/men) and [bags](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/bags).
##### **Stine Goya** Vibrant colour palettes and a penchant for eclectic patterns define the aesthetic of Danish fashion designer [Stine Goya](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/brands/stine-goya). Having launched her eponymous label in 2006, the designer set out to create clothes which celebrate individuality. We particularly love the [Valentina dress](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/dresses/day/valentina-one-shoulder-dress/0001049334-1938.html), which is printed with tiny daisies for a whimsical touch. Another standout is the [Justin Knit Jumper](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/knitwear/jumpers/justin-knit-jumper/0001057558-1031.html), which combines traditional Danish knitting techniques with contemporary colours. For a true statement, the [Glenda Rainbow Blouse](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/tops/blouses/glenda-rainbow-blouse/0001049332-1709.html) features pastel stripes and brightens up any outfit.
Shop Stine Goya
##### **Wood Wood** Founded in 2002, Copenhagen-based label [Wood Wood](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/brands/wood-wood) has become a cult favourite due to its sporty approach to design. Founded by Karl-Oskar Olsen and Brian SS Jensen, the brand’s '90s subcultural roots are expressed through graphic prints, sleek lines and fine details. Placing a heavy emphasis on elevating basic staples, Wood Wood presents clothes that are fit for every occasion. Hoodies form the basis of the brand’s collection and the [Fred Hoodie](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/men/clothing/sweatshirts-and-knitwear/hoodies/fred-hoodie/0001056715-DARKGREEN.html) combines minimalist style with graphic details. Functional, yet stylish, the [Konrad Jacket](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/men/clothing/coats-and-jackets/lightweight-jackets/konrad-jacket/0001056711-BRIGHTGREEN.html) comes in a neon green colourway and is detailed with squared pockets for a contemporary finish. Another highlight is the [Come Down Easy T-shirt](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/men/clothing/t-shirts/logo/come-down-easy-t-shirt/0001056717-BRIGHTWHITE.html), which updates a basic white tee with a witty touch.
Shop Wood Wood
##### **Rains** Denmark’s maritime climate served as the starting point behind lifestyle label [Rains](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/brands/rains). Founded in Aarhus, the label specialises in crafting waterproof designs that range across different bags and accessories. With an ethos that is focused on simplicity and functionality, Rains crafts everything out of weather-ready textile, so that their bags are truly fit for any season. Everyone needs a backpack and [this one from the brand](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/men/bags/backpack/2530011974604.html) is cut for a boxy silhouette and contains enough storage for all your essentials. Slightly smaller yet just as practical, [the Field bag](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/men/bags/field-bag/2530011974635.html) encapsulates minimalism with clean lines, and is designed to last for years without breaking.
Shop Rains
##### **How to: Danish beauty** Danish beauty revolves around the simple philosophy of “less is more”, with more emphasis on a sheer, natural base, subtle definition and healthy flushes of colour. Opt for a tinted moisturiser like [Chantecaille's Just Skin Anti Smog Tinted Moisturiser](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/beauty/make-up/face/tinted-moisturisers/just-skin-anti-smog-tinted-moisturiser/2500004889208.html), which hydrates the face and evens out the complexion. For the eyes, go subtle and apply a coat of [Clinique’s Naturally Glossy Mascara](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/beauty/make-up/eyes/mascaras/naturally-glossy-mascara/2500000822346.html) to your lashes for natural definition. If you ask any Dane about their preferred mode of transport, a large percentage will say that it’s by cycling. Mimic the effect of a flushed bicycle glow by rubbing a bit of [Clinique’s Chubby Stick™ Cheek Colour Balm](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/beauty/make-up/face/blushers/chubby-stick%E2%84%A2-cheek-colour-balm/2500000809330.html) on the apples of your cheeks. In addition, apply the same stick onto your lips to give your pout a subtle, glossy finish.
Shop make-up
_Image via Stine Goya_