Levis-Denim-Campaign
A tried and trusted wardrobe staple, jeans are one of our most reliable go-to pieces. For this AW19 season, we talk to Fenwick’s Buying Manager for Womenswear, Lucy Nguyen, about the best denim trends.
As one of the hardest working pieces in our wardrobe, most of us would be at a loss without our favourite pair of jeans. Regardless of whether you’re a denim fanatic or just own that one pair, we can all agree that there’s a jean out there for all of us. Here, we sit down with Fenwick’s Buying Manager for Womenswear, Lucy Nguyen, to discuss key styles for the autumn season. The jeans for this season have taken on a looser fit, which reflects our craving for clothes that are comfortable from day to night. However, comfort doesn’t mean that style has to be compromised. From relaxed staples to new iterations on denim classics, explore our favourite trends.
Explore The Denim Shop
##### **Raw Cut / Frayed Hems** “Raw cut or frayed hem jeans instantly add rebellious appeal to any outfit,” says Lucy. What’s great about this trend is that everyone can wear it because it’s not limited to one particular fit, and it adds a unique touch to any outfit. The trick to avoiding looking unkempt is to balance the jeans with refined pieces and to pick the fray that you want. Choose [Paige’s Sarah Slim Ripped Hem jeans](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/straight/sarah-slim-ripped-hem-jeans/0001038866-W6374.html) for a subtler take on the trend or walk on the wild side with [Citizens of Humanity’s frayed Emerson Boyfriend Jeans](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/boyfriend/emerson-boyfriend-jeans/0001050378-ADLR.html).
##### **Wide-leg Jeans** Wide-leg styles are severely underrated for several reasons. They’re incredibly flattering, sit high on the waist and finish above the ankle, highlighting the narrowest part of the leg. In addition, they’re also a great way to subtly emulate ‘70s style flares, without the drama of the fluted silhouette. “Pair wide-leg jeans with your favourite twist to add a modern twist onto the classic staple,” says Lucy. Look for jeans in shades that you’ll wear everyday to get the most mileage out of them. Choose from [Citizens of Humanity’s classic blue Flavie Wide Leg Full Length High Rise Jeans](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/wide-leg/flavie-wide-leg-full-length-high-rise-jeans/0001054138-TULA.html), [FRAME’s black Belted Crop Pan](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/slim/belted-crop-pant/0001045098-NOIR.html)t or [Weekend Max Mara's crisp white Ulrico Long Pants](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/flared/ulrico-long-pants/0001045589-002.html).
##### **High-rise Silhouettes** If there’s truly one style that fits all, it’s a high-rise jean. “High-rise denim is a no-brainer when it comes to contemporary charm and ultimate cool style,” says Lucy. High-rise silhouettes are always a favourite due to the fact that they accentuate the waist, while elongating the legs. A great day-to-night piece, high-rise jeans come in an assortment of washes and are versatile enough to pair with stilettos or sneakers. Channel classic cool style with [Levi’s 724 High Rise Straight Jeans](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/straight/724-high-rise-straight-jeans/2530010953808.html) or opt for a lighter wash with [J Brand's Jules High Rise Straight Jeans](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/straight/jules-high-rise-straight/0001049242-J44904.html). If you’re unsure of what wash to choose, always go for black styles like [rag & bone’s Nina High-Rise Ankle Skinny](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/women/clothing/jeans/skinny/nina-high-rise-ankle-skinny/0001050134-21.html), as they’re versatile to pair with any outfit during any season.
Shop jeans
_Image via [Levi's](https://www.fenwick.co.uk/brands/levis)_